Original Movie Soundtrack of “The Zookeeper’s Wife” Set for Release on March 31

Original Movie Soundtrack of The Zookeeper’s Wife Set for Release on March 31


Harry Gregson-Williams Composes Score for Movie Starring Jessica Chastain and Based on Real-Life Heroine in WWII Poland

LONDON, March 29, 2017Atlantic Screen Group’s Filmtrax today announced the worldwide digital release of renowned composer Harry Gregson-Williams‘ original motion picture soundtrack of The Zookeeper’s Wife, an emotionally moving film directed by Niki Caro and based on the international bestseller of the same name. The album hits digital retailers March 31, concurrent with the film’s debut, with the CD format coming June 9. Starring two-time Academy Award nominee Jessica Chastain, Focus Features’ The Zookeeper’s Wife tells the story of a real-life working wife and mother who became a hero to hundreds during WWII.

Harry Gregson-Williams is one of Hollywood’s most sought after composers, whose scores span the spectrum of high-profile projects from action to drama to animation. He was the composer of all four Shrek movies, garnering a BAFTA nomination for the score for the first Shrek. He received Golden Globe and Grammy Award nominations for his score to The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe. His most recent credits include Live by Night, HBO’s Confirmation and The Martian. His long list of credits also includes Gone Baby Gone, The Town, Veronica Guerin, Phone Booth, Unstoppable, Domino, Man on Fire, Spy Game, Enemy of State and Kingdom of Heaven.


Music plays an integral role in The Zookeeper’s Wife. Antonina Zabińska, a trained pianist, hides people from the Nazis in abandoned animal cages and tunnels, all the while bolstering their spirits with music and using specific classical pieces as alarm signals.


For The Zookeeper’s Wife Gregson-Williams has written an evocative deeply layered original score that becomes a character all of its own when united with the story and its relationships.
“Working with Niki Caro was both rewarding and invigorating because she continually urged me to play against the emotional landscape of the film. She wanted to celebrate the beauty and playfulness of the zoo, even in some of its darkest moments,” said Gregson-Williams. “Woodwinds, piano, and vocals have a strong voice in this score, as I felt that they best communicated the tenderness of Antonina Zabińska (played by Jessica Chastain) and the fragility and uncertainty of war-torn Poland. I tried to design a delicate color palette to ensure that the music didn’t overpower the emotional delicacy of the story and to further convey a sense of intimacy,” continued Gregson-Williams.


Track List:

  1. Warsaw Zoo, 1939
  2. The Bombings
  3. Aftermath
  4. The Escape
  5. Pray For Us
  6. Wall Paint
  7. Bring Them Out
  8. Burning The Ghetto
  9. Come Back To Us
  10. In Plain Sight
  11. Heck’s Realization
  12. Refugees
  13. Home Again
  14. Jan Returns


Running Time: 41 minutes


Digital album (Filmtrax, distributed by BFD / RED) available for download 3/31 on all digital outlets including Amazon, iTunes and Spotify. Physical album will be available June 9.

Leave a Reply

Just Love Movies